Stratford Park Lido

My day started with a re-shoot of the director of the Museum. My first session with him didn't turn out as well as hoped and he wanted to use the pictures to accompany an article he had to contribute to a trade magazine in his line of work. So we arranged for me to meet him at 10am, an hour before the museum opened to the public. I chose another exterior, but less bright this time, and it matched the style of my other more recent portraits. All went well and the rain stopped before I got there and the sun even came out through dappled leaves and through thin high clouds. I was happier with today's session and the background looked pretty with colourful shrubs ands tree leaves.

When I got back to the car, it occurred to me that I could look for a blip in Stratford Park, and then wondered whether I could get to see the lido. I wandered past the leisure centre which was bustling, despite the rather now overcast sky. I walked around the perimeter looking for views over or round the high fences to no avail. So I walked all the way to the main entrance to the Lido, and as I expected it was shut with heavy iron bars, but at least I could see the water of the swimming pool and the distinct diving boards which so suggest the era of lidos to me.

The rain then started to fall very heavily after the wind strengthened to become very gusty. In the entrance porch I was sheltered so I started to play with the camera whilst waiting for the rain to lessen so I could walk back to the car. This is one of the results which I rather like, because of the colours and the distinct areas such as the blue board for coat hangers within the payment kiosk.

I eventually got home after pumping up the car tyres, buying special gifts for our hosts in Holland and filling up with fuel. Then I washed the car, and dispatched the pictures to my subject so he could use them when we are away next week. We are setting off in the morning to drive to Dover for the ferry to Dunkerque, and then the long drive to the east of Holland. I'm hoping the predicted storm waits until we have crossed the Straits of Dover, but I expect it will hit us a few hours later than here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.