Life At Dragonfly Cottage

By MaitriLibellule

Cosmos Going By...

It is autumn, my favorite season, and the flowers that are left from the summer's glorious bounty are precious indeed. The orange cosmos have outlasted almost everything in this area and this patch is going to seed. I don't pull them out until the seeds have completely dried out so that I can harvest the seeds and broadcast them in the cottage garden areas, and I love to watch this process. This one is just going by, still holding the brilliant orange color as the seed pod starts to form. I revel in every stage of the flowers in my garden from the first tiny sprouting of the seeds in the spring to the summer's wild, over-abundant bloomtime here, on into fall when flowers that self-sow have gone to seed. I find this stage magical, and wanted to share it with you this beautiful Saturday, the last Saturday in October...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.