Our Journey is a process

By journeysprocess

Jeff the Master Tiler

Workmen Series #2

With such a wealth of interesting faces and personalities, I've decided to do portraits on the guys (no ladies yet) who have been working on our Colorado house. I am very thankful that they have allowed me to "practice" on them (and yes, I need all the practice I can get).

This is Jeff, our tiler. His work is outstanding. But he has this wonderfully quiet and humble yet engaging personality. He works by himself, yet is more than willing to pitch in on related projects. I love just watching him because he is so intent on his work, yet when he speaks to someone his whole face lights up. When I asked him if I could take his picture, he laughed and did a couple of silly poses. I just told him to just talk to me - tell me about his family. So for the next twenty minutes, he became so animated. It was a delight for me to watch his many facial expressions. My problem was trying to catch up with him. I felt like I was shooting a sporting event. He talked so fast and with so much animation, many of my shots were slightly blurred. Here are a couple of others that I liked.

I have been really behind in responding to all of your amazing shots. I am trying to catch up. But one thing is clear - you are all so much of an inspiration to me. Even though ramblerstale got me into this (yes, you can blame her), it is each of you that keep me going. It is your very constructive critiques, suggestions and encouragement that mean so very much. I feel so honored that you would even look at my photos. With all my heart, thank you!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.