Come into the Garden

By aprecious

The dog is dirty

What's the fascination with humans and dirt? Why are they obsessed with cleaning me up?

The deductive argument:

I am a dog (premise),
all dogs get muddy when they go on walks, (premise)
I get muddy so get over it. (conclusion)

aprecious says this isn't deductive, it's inductive. The conclusion is false.

Some dogs may wear rain coats and Wellingtons.
Some dogs may live in warm climates that do not become a quagmire when it rains. It may not rain where the walking happens.

aprecious says I must not jump to conclusions, although she says that she appreciates my efforts.

Whatever.

Today I am able to share with you my extensive knowledge of German.

Der hund ist schmutzig.

In fact, that is my extensive knowledge of German.

A whole year of studying at school, plus a further year post 18 supporting a friend to learn who had met a German and fallen in love. I laughed out loud in those language labs with lovely foreign nationals saying random things like, "I very much like Shredded Wheat."

Thanks for yesterday - Maud barely noticed. But I did, and loved your comments. Ta.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.