Living in Brabant

By AilsaR

Labour of love

Armed with an electric sander, this morning I started tackling the beams in the loft.
Around 100 years old, and with layers of dust twice that amount, it was a filthy job, but very rewarding.
It's a big job, so I'm going to sand it bit by bit, and am rather pleased with my first efforts.

Today is my last day to feed the Urban pigs; they were snoring contentedly in their pen when I arrived this morning. When they heard me, they came running out, Spekkie had a little pile of straw perched on his nose.
Oooh, I'm going to miss them.

This afternoon I cycled down to the Commonwealth graves, where a remembrance ceremony had been held this morning in honour of the memory of the soldiers killed in action. 76 soldiers are buried here; British, Canadian, Polish and Australian.

In October 1944, Tilburg was liberated by (amongst others) the 15th Scottish Division.
This evening another service will be held here, at the statue of the Scottish Soldier.
There will be bagpipes.
There will be tears, I can't hear 'Amazing Grace' and not get a little sentimental.

Have a peaceful Sunday evening, fellow Blippers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.