From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

Wild is the wind

This is a quickie as I haven't done anything today!

I changed all the clocks before I went to bed last night, even the one that's older than me which boings in the living room right over my bedroom. It doesn't matter that it takes ages to get it going when it stops and is always a bit fast no matter how you adjust the pendulum, my parents would never get rid of it and have put it up on the wall in every house we have ever lived in. You can still hear the loud ticking in your head long after you have left the house and sometimes even imagine the ticking has somehow crept inside you, ticking away like some sort of internal time bomb. Is it any wonder then that one of the first things I bought when I got my own place was a Committee clock which of course, boings all night.

My clock is even weirder than mom's in that for no reason at all, it will sometimes do the quarter hour boings instead of the hour boings or boing once more than it's supposed to. Daft clock! It would be mine, wouldn't it?

Anyway, I woke this morning to the sound of the sea roaring and the rain battering the window. The first thing I did was Google the time on my iPad before looking at my watch! Even though I knew I'd changed everything before I shut my eyes, I still don't have faith in myself until Google has told me I've done it right.

Nothing happened today, well not so far anyway. I spent the day reading and going downstairs to go out but then would head back upstairs again once I'd opened the front door and changed my mind until dinner time when the sausages killed of my enthusiasm completely. We have been eating Richmond Irish sausages for years (the thin ones) and mom felt adventurous during the week and went to the butcher's for a change. According to mom, the cheery butcher was giving out free cooked sausages to customers, so she ate hers then and there and enjoyed it so much she decided to buy some for our dinner today. I was not pleased! After years of Richmond Irish sausages (thin ones) to suddenly be presented with a butcher's Scottish thick one was not the done thing!

Richmond Irish sausages are supposed to be the worst sausages in the world as apparently there isn't much meat in them. The trouble is, after all these years, you get used to something and then you can't cope with anything else. Anyway, mom will defrost some pork chops to cremate for dinner tomorrow. Yum!

As I didn't make it out of the front door today, there is only this iPhone picture of the spooky house opposite taken from the living room window.

Track? This is one song of David Bowie's you don't hear often but I think it's quite beautiful - Wild Is The Wind

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.