From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

Well it was a stormy one!

I think I'm going to have to make this a quickie as I nodded off in Coronation Street in the middle of blip writing and am now struggling to stay awake.

The hairdryer (mom's old one) I use when I'm here in Ayr made a strange noise and started spewing out smoke meaning I smelt like a bonfire all day yesterday. It was only 35 years old! Clearly it wasn't built to last. I ordered one from Amazon yesterday and got sent a text message this morning telling me that my DPD delivery driver called James with size 12 feet and a dazzling smile would be delivering my package between 9:52 and 10:52 this morning. Sure enough, the doorbell rang at 10:05 and it was a nice smiley man with my new hairdryer. I was joking about the feet. Probably more like a size 9 I reckon...

Seriously, it was a quiet day. With it being half term week in England, loads of people were off with their children and the schools were all shut. Help desk calls were a trickle today. It gave me a chance to catch up on other bits of work and I was delighted to accidentally find a way of stopping 'null' coming out on reports without writing tedious routines to check all the potentially offending columns.

I had another repeat nuisance call in the afternoon similar to one I'd had last year.

'Good evening madam!' It was only 3pm and I HATE being called 'madam'.
'I am calling you to be telling you about problems you are having with your Windows PC!'
'Oh good!' I answered cheerfully. 'I'll just take a note of your name, telephone number and company details to pass onto my employer THE GOVERNMENT'... (Yes I really did talk like that)
'Hello?' I continued. 'Are you still there?'

Another one bites the dust...

After work, mom and I walked up towards Greenan Castle in a biting wind but at least it was still daylight. I was amazed to see loads of black and white birds with long legs and red rimmed eyes running along the beach. No, these were not loose women on the way back from a party. They had long orange beaks too! They were all running and I couldn't catch them in the stiff sea breeze as I found it hard to hold the camera steady. I was told by a reliable source a little later that they were Oystercatchers! Checking my bird app, I could see they were. I'll try again tomorrow.

For today, here is the wild sea. Go large...

Track? Originally written by T Bone Walker, here is a version by Gary Moore - Stormy Monday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.