Bob20

By Bob20

Patagonia: The Straits of Magellan

Today we had a very early start. We left our hotel at 3.30am for the flight to Puerto Arenas, a 4 hour flight probably about 2,000 miles further south. I don’t think I have ever been this far south!

It was uneventful until it came to landing. We were kept in a holding pattern until the wind fell sufficiently for the ‘plane to land safely. When we were on the ground, we had to wait nearly an hour to disembark as neither the air bridge or ladders could be connected. The short walk to the little terminal was so difficult, the winds were gusting up to 90 mph!! Some passengers were blown off their feet. Fortunately, my weight helped☺)

We then travelled to the Straits of Magellan. This must surely be a blip for me to remember, I never thought I would see these. My word it was rough out at sea with driftwood washed up everywhere.

Then on to Cape Otway to see the Magellan penguins. It was so windy not one posed for me!

This part of Patagonia is like the Russian Steppes, very flat and bare. Tomorrow to the mountains of the Torres del Paines!!!

I was not sure whether to blip the straits or a Condor. I decided on this blip as I may see more Condors this week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.