lrjlo - Suburban Explorer

By lrjlo

Pelican feeding time

Today I had the pleasure of being in St James's Park for pelican feeding time. They are very funny creatures. They were very excited about being fed but after only about 1 fish each they seemed to get bored and wander off so the cormorants and heron got a good meal. Then the pelicans came back and stretched their wings out and strutted around for a while.

I saw a lot of ducks including a beautiful mandarin duck and some teals. I think I could spend all day in that park and not get bored. There are so many water birds to watch. It's also entertaining watching the tourists interacting with squirrels. There was a girl with a pigeon perched on her arm, it stayed there for quite a while.

There's supposed to be this big storm tonight. The train companies have taken the opportunity to give their staff a lie-in and most of them aren't running any overnight or early morning trains - one company used by a lot of commuters are saying they won't run any trains before 9am. I think a lot of people will be late for work and it will be at best chaotic getting into London in the morning. Ironically of course I am already in central London but have nowhere to go and nothing planned tomorrow, or the day after. I guess I should really use the time to try to find a job.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.