Acorn Woodpecker, bird

Life settles back into a comfortable routine quickly here. Dana took good care of our garden, and Jim has been here to help figure out how to rescue the data from OilMan's dead computer. (the dead computer wasn't so good, but it's old and I think OilMan is resigned to getting a new one.) I defrosted and dried out the freezer which was apparently left slightly ajar for the week we were gone, and between us we've done all the laundry.

We had to put an extra blanket on the bed last night as the nights are getting cold, but it is still warm during the day. I went to the store and restocked the fridge and pantry, feeling despite the sunshine, like cooking winter fare, so we had braised lamb shanks with anasazi beans tonight. The young butcher didn't know what lamb shanks were, so I had to point them out to him. I haven't cooked them in years, but I managed to find the old tried and true recipe in the New York Times cookbook, added a few extras, and we not only enjoyed the result, but the house smelled good as they braised in their juices with wine from our trip to Airlie winery where the dogs played in the pond.

I've been experimenting with the ikons on my camera, and was delighted with the "through the window" option. I discovered that I could get a good close up of the water feature/fountain the birds favor, but I had to sit on top of the washing machine for awhile with my camera poised to get the woodpecker. He waited for his moment, swooped in and looked nervously around between each sip. He's a handsome fellow even if he does peck holes in our house!

I'll be working on the sunset option tomorrow....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.