Self Portrait

The sun seems to stay closer to the earth at this time of the year. The days are shorter and there is a distinct nip in the early mornings. I was struck by the long shadows throwing my image across the dry creek bed this morning, confetti'd by fallen oak leaves.

It rained quit a lot on Saturday, although the old refrain, "not enough to do anything about the drought" is once again being repeated like a mantra by the people who are supposed to know these things. What I know is that it was enough to cause shoots of green grass to poke their heads up through last year's dry weeds, dust off the trees and shrubbery, and clear the air and Maya and Owen saw three rainbows on their drive up here.

The slanting afternoon light is even better. I am doggedly continuing my efforts to paint oak trees because I love their structure, their gnarly branches, the patches of lichen on their bark, but they are devilishly difficult to paint. Today Ann and I sat in the dirt dead weeds by the side of the road behind our house and worked on the single oak tree which I have photographed often. I posted this spring shot last year. I enjoyed the sun at my back, and the golden light and shadows cast by the branches of the tree.

I can see why artists always want North light in their studios, but sitting outside with the warm sun at my back , with my teacher sitting next to me, looking at the play of golden light and shadows cast by the branches of the tree, was a pleasant autumn challenge. Plenty of time for the studio worktable in the office when it's cold and raining.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.