Final Leg

Today we rounded off the 2009 Tour de Zoos at the Ecotarium in Worcester (pronounced wuss' tah if you want to sound like a local). I think this was the 5th or 6th zoo we've visited since March. As I've mentioned before, I'm not a big fan of zoos, but I'm even less a fan of sitting around playing My Little Pony, which would make my daughter equally happy.

This is Kenda, a 25-year-old female polar bear who was born and has lived in this same enclosure her whole life. Even my 4-year-old daughter sensed the apparent unfairness of it and asked, "Why don't they let her live where...in the...where..." She couldn't quite articulate it, but I knew what she was getting at.* She even asked, "Isn't Massachusetts too warm for her?" I assured my daughter that it would get cold enough before long for Kenda. The toughest question was, "Why do animals live in the zoo, mom?"

This shot was a close second and had Mr. DH's vote. My daughter voted for this one "because my head is there in the corner!", so this one wins.





*Actually, most of the animals in this zoo were either injured in the wild or raised in captivity thus rendering them unable to survive on their own.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.