Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

In Hexham today

I was in Hexham this morning with a long list of things to buy, both for home and for the India trip. I may have mentioned that before! First I took a boot load of rubbish to the tip; as always I was impressed me with how tidy and organised it is.

Then I met Marjorie - the other one - for coffee in Bunter's. This is a cafe that becomes a Greek restaurant at night. Very good coffee in a homely atmosphere. We discussed Shakespeare again and put the RSC to rights.

In the main street I saw a dog patiently waiting for his master and guarding a large backpack. There was a card on the ground stating that they are walking to Cornwall via Edinburgh and need money for food. "Don't use drugs or drink." The young man returned and the dog soon sported a warm jacket and scarf.

We chatted. He was very pleasant and gave Zeus permission to be stroked by me and was happy to be photographed. Why was he doing the walk? "For something to do........." was all he would say and I didn't want to press him. He had slept on the bandstand last night and looked very tired. Hostels don't usually allow dogs...........

It makes you wonder how and why. I wished him well with his walk. Zeus meantime nearly scoffed the meat in my shopping bag!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.