Thirty No More

By MarkusMeerkat

Stolen Rowan tree!!

This tree is in my parents front garden, and it's been there for as long as I can remember (they moved into the house 2 years before I was born, and as you all hopefully know by now I'm a few months shy of forty).

Not sure when this sapling was planted, but I do know that it was NOT bought in a garden centre.

Instead it was plucked from the ground in the Lake Districts (I'm assuming somewhere near Patterdale or Glenridding near Ullswater as that is where we always holidayed).

Now I'm sure you are not allowed to do that, but in my mothers defence it has probably survived better in the garden than it would have done in the wild.

It has thrived (after a little blip where the cherry tree that was removed next to it lead to a few unhealthy years - suspecting accidental poisoning where the tree surgeons killed the cherry stump). It's a nice healthy size and is covered in thousands of lush red berries every autumn; providing a major feast for a host of birds.

Also I know of the location of at least 2 of the saplings that have come from the berries; my front garden and my back garden.

So I look at it, as spreading the DNA of this particular Rowan tree from Cumbria to Teeside to Bristol. So I don't think I'll be phoning the police just yet.

Back home in Bristol now, and with an additional 11 bags of apples to go to my already acquired stash - so we may try and start the cider making tomorrow :)

As you can see it was a lovely morning in Billingham, with this taken about 9am I think. For that reason I've not cropped or done any processing on this at all. Straight out of the tin.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.