Thirty No More

By MarkusMeerkat

Meerkat Cider: Day 1

Enlisted the help of C today in my cider making.

He brought apples in from outside; he washed them in the sink; I chopped and blitzed them (in the bucket with the most evil looking drill bit I've ever seen); then he started the whole pressing process.

I had to take over once it started getting a bit tougher; but he did very well actually.

We washed / chopped / blitzed / pressed a lot of apples; and managed one whole demijohn of very cloudy apple juice.

Campden (sp?) tablets have been added to kill of any wild yeast; and tomorrow (or the day after) I'll add the bought yeast.

It did take a lot of effort, and I think the drill bit bucket blitzeing may not be the best thing. If I end up with more apples next year I may have to invest in a proper apple scratter.

You can see the drill (with bit still attached) on the work top at the left of the picture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.