Beneath Biscay

By Douglian

Soggy sunday shopping

Spent the morning shopping in Cheltenham. Found what I was after. New waterproof over-trousers and a day sack to go with my birthday present, a new Berghaus jacket.

What's more the over trousers were reduced to half-price, provided I bought something full price as well. So a bar of Kendal mint cake went into the bag.

The master plan is to get back out into the countryside again.

After that I found a new pair of shoes that I needed. My old pair I was wearing, and they were already soaked through from wandering around the shops in the rain. They went straight into the bin when I got home later.

While looking for shoes I passed Cheltenham's Everyman theatre. After his retirement, my grandfather who loved the theatre, acted as its company secretary.

Finally a quick visit to the Cheltenham's newly re-furbished museum and art gallery, The Wilson. Named after Cheltenham's Dr Edward Wilson. A doctor, naturalist, artist and explorer, he perished on Captain Scott's ill fated Antarctic expedition.

The Wilson was hosting the 'Read all about it' exhibition of journalism. I had a quick look around, but unfortunately my parking meter was only hosting me for a few more minutes so I couldn't linger.

I will definitely be back for a longer visit to the Wilson and I must make a point of checking what's on at the Everyman next time I'm over.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.