Unexpected Guest

I took lots of pictures today but still ended up blipping one of the first I took. It isn't the best technically but it does document a magic moment. I went to the sink to do something, I forget what. I looked out the window and this was what I saw. A female Pileated Woodpecker had discovered the suet feeder. I quietly picked up my camera and took a couple of pictures through the window before she flew away. Amazing. I've never seen one at our feeder before. Wouldn't it be wonderful if this were the female I saw last spring who built a nest with her mate in the tree that fell? I hope it is.

We had a lovely walk at Zuanich Point Park today and I took lots of photos of the marina and boats. I'll try to put some photos on Chaikins of Bellingham. But that will be later. I'll come back and put in a link when I get a chance to post the photos.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.