Fields of Gold, Late October

The morning light in October has to be some of the very best light there is. These past few mornings, the light has really knocked my socks off. It's a wonder I can get ANYwhere. I want to stop and take pictures of everything I see.

On this particular morning, I was driving past a little cemetery that I love, and admiring the light on the gravestones and the long shadows that it cast, and of course thinking about stopping. And then I turned my head and suddenly noticed that the light on the OTHER side of the road was just as fine, and that there was a lovely little ground mist rising off the golden farm fields.

So you know what I did. By then, I'd driven past it all, so I pulled into a church parking lot a little ways down the road, and turned around and came back. I stopped and took some pictures of those golden fields. And then I walked across the road and visited the graveyard and took some more!

This shot, which was one of the very first few I took, turned out to be my favorite of the day. The light makes the golden fields look textured and touchable. There is still some foliage color, and the mist is rising in the distance. And that little road on the left - here, let's walk down it a ways together, and we'll have our morning coffee standing in the sun . . .

The soundtrack to this photo has to be Fields of Gold, by Sting. (Yes, I know I used it once before, and I try not to repeat songs - much - but this situation definitely calls for it!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.