Light on Water, With Mist Rising

One day earlier this week, I went past Spring Creek on my morning drive, and I loved the way the light looked on the water, and the mist was rising. I stopped to take some pictures, but the photo I chose for that day was not one of those; instead, it was a picture of dawn arriving at one of my favorite ponds.

But my mind kept returning to the image of morning light on water, with mist rising. So on Wednesday, I arranged my morning drive so that I could drive past the same part of Spring Creek again. The stream widens there and bends around a corner; the first light of morning hits that part of the creek in an especially enchanting way.

And as I got there, I saw something special: a blue heron was fishing in the shallows. I pulled in and parked my car just in time for a school bus to arrive and stop with a flashing of lights and great fanfare, which of course scared away the heron. I heard the sound of the bird's wings - fwoop! fwoop! fwoop! - as it flew right past me and  headed up the creek.

So I decided to drive just a bit further down Spring Creek - and was surprised and delighted when the very same heron changed its mind and came back down the creek. It settled into the water in a spot not far from where I parked. And I sneaked up on it stealthily, only to have it take to the air again, long before I even got a clear view of it, let alone a single shot with the camera.

I stayed and lingered by the creek anyway, and for a few minutes enjoyed the sight of the mist rising off the water. OK, so I admit I might have wanted this shot to have a heron IN it. But I thank the bird that brought me here, for the morning light on the water with the mist rising was a fine and enjoyable thing to see indeed, heron or no heron!

The soundtrack for this picture . . . is dedicated to the blue heron who lured me in for this shot, but did not stay to grace me with its image:  The Eagles, Already Gone. And I may have missed you this time, blue heron, but next time - oh, and there WILL be a next time - you will be mine, all mine!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.