dark|adapted

By dark

Congaree National Park

(near Columbia, South Carolina)

The largest remaining old-growth floodplain forest in the US, and apparently the tallest deciduous forest left in the world - I believe they said the average height is 160 ft.

It's beautiful, quiet, and wonderfully unspoiled - a bittersweet reminder of how much of the southeast probably looked, once upon a time... before we humans decided to "improve" the forests into parking lots.

I also had a great shot of a frog, and one of a spider, but figured I kind of had to show trees.


On a side note, I hate the screen on my laptop - if I move my head half an inch in any direction, the contrast completely changes. So if this shot doesn't look right when viewed on a real monitor, please forgive me. I'm kind of flying blind.







Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.