Last of the Lovely Loaves

Friends came to visit for 24 hours on there way westward. They love sourdough artisan bread so I started baking a few days ahead and all the way up until heir departure day. It was sooo-0 delicious, if I do say so myself.
I made a Pumpkin Oatmeal version that was novel and healthy, but the crusty white as pictured here is still the very best. I packed their bag with several loaves of each type.
After they drove off into the light of their future, I cleaned up and here's a lovely little loaf left hiding under a kitchen towel just waiting for me to slice off a bit for toast and jam.
The amazing thing about this particular sourdough is that I discovered a wee container of sourdough starter tucked into the recesses of the freezer. I had wanted to see if it could be frozen and re-invigorated. It has been there for about two years since these friends last had my sourdough bread here. (It gives you some idea how often I clear out the freezer!)
Anyway, the starter, once defrosted,was alive! It expanded readily into the strongest leaving imaginable. It smelled sweet and sour. I have never actually used ancient saved starter before. I am pleased... and wealthy because I have that same container full of starter and a bin of Pumpkin Oatmeal prepared in the fridge waiting to become a loaf of bread.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.