Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

You make a better mirror than an iPad

I had a couple hours of panic this afternoon when my iPad appeared to be dead. Not just a dead battery, but dead as in no resurrecting this one. The screen was black and made a lovely reflective surface.

I have so much stuff on this little machine - stuff I depend on for my voice students, my own music lessons, my choir music - some of it backed up and some of it not.

It made me realize how dependent I become on these objects. They are wonderful tools and help me to be efficient and organized. But when something goes wrong, chaos reigns. Last week I had to buy a new laptop because the "old" one (3 or 4 years OLD!) was showing signs of crashing. It has taken me hours to get it set up the way I want (and learn some tricks about bypassing some stupid Windows 8 features). I was not relishing the idea of buying another iPad and starting from scratch.

I was telling my woes to my voice student this evening and she mentioned rebooting it, which isn't as straightforward as it is with a laptop or desktop computer. I thought I'd try plugging the iPad into my laptop and voila! It lives! It doesn't appear to have turned into a Zombie, so I think we're OK.

Now I'm off to do some serious backing up of files.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.