Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

Witches and goblins and ghouls, oh my!

This is me on the back of the couch. I like to perch up here when Mom goes out and leaves me alone in the cottage – I can watch to see where she goes and when she comes back. And I can watch the children when they come outside and keep an eye on the squirrels and on Pearl the neighbor cat, who’s been hanging out here more and more. She likes to lie on our compost pile – it must be warm. And maybe even has some little mice in it. What could be better! A nice warm spot to dine.

Today is Hallowe’en, so they tell me which, if I remember correctly, means a bunch of people (kids, mostly) will come to the door in funny costumes. It gives me lots of opportunities to bark and bark. Mom will probably put me in my pouch to calm me down. It’s not a bad way to hang out, I sure get to be close to her and don’t have to worry about her leaving me alone! Especially with all those goblins and ghouls around!

We've seen a bunch of scary and weird looking things on our scoots this week – big pumpkins with spooky faces carved in them and skeletons and witches and webs all over people’s yards. People are weird.

It’s getting cold. Fortunately, I’m growing in a nice winter coat. You should feel it! It’s very thick and soft and keeps me warm. Crawling under the blanket helps too, which is where I’m going right now! Bye!
~~Liza Jane.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.