Action Time Vision

By ATV

Piglet

Up early, busy round the house.

I recorded some older episodes of Later... off the Dave satellite channel during the night. One episode with Belle & Sebastian and another with Roots Manuva and New Order amongst others.

I vaguely remember watching them when they were originally broadcast on BBC2 some time back.

I noticed Stewart Braithwaite was Twittering from Canada last night. Sometimes it's strange to realise the global awareness, if not success, of some "local" bands.

For example probably the only two remotely popular bands to have originated from near here are Falkirk's Arab Strap and Grangemouth's Cocteau Twins. Oh and Bannockburn's Lawrence Donegan played bass in Lloyd Cole & The Commotions.

There were always millions of bands, I played in a good few many years ago, but this really is a barren piece of land in that sense.

I suppose the Skids were along the road in Dunfermline but I really can't think of many others who went anywhere.

It's strange to think that people as far afield as America and Japan can try to seek out Falkirk landmarks referred to in Aidan Moffat's songs and poetry - pertol stations, the park and the pubs.

I believe that in years to come when people look back to see how popular music reflected these times socially Arab Strap will feature heavily.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.