Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Painting figures for the Dolores station

I am starting to paint some figures to sit on the benches at the Dolores station. They come from Aspen Modeling Company (http://www.theaspenmodelingcompany.com).
They do excellent figures in S and O scales, and concentrate on the west with figures and animals - perfect for my era. The figure shown has had most of the flash cut off and has been primed with a very fine primer so as to not fill the detail. I glue the figure to a plastic scrap so as not to touch it with my fingers while painting. Keep in mind that this figure of the man sitting and reaching into his pocket is about 1/2" tall from seat to head. Great detail. Good thing I have a strong magnifier and lots of light.

I see that I still have some flash on the legs. It is a slight ridge left where the molds meet. No problem. The casting is in resin so fix-ups while few are easy.

On to the color. I will be using paint from Vallejo Model Paints (http://www.acrylicosvallejo.com/en_US) . Actually paint made for the military modelers so it has very finely ground pigment that will not hide the detail - and is flat and acrylic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.