When in Egypt...

Our shipment has arrived in Egypt. Al humdoolilah.

We have been a little worried about some stories we've heard about import charges on goods shipped into the country. Some people we know have had to pay up to another £600 in 'tax and duty' charges. I'm not entirely sure what these charges represent, but have a good idea they are supposed to apply to brand-new electrical goods. We have quite a lot of electrical items and have been bracing ourselves to pay a little extra if they are believed to be in 'new' condition, which many of them appear to be as I kept the original boxes.

Our quote to have our shipment released from customs is £1100. Scarily, the actual charge might be more.

Unbelievable.

I know there is an underlying current of poverty running through Egypt, but I'll bet a ridiculous charge like this isn't lining the pockets of those who need it, and I can guarantee you an Egyptian wouldn't be charged a fraction of the amount.

There's only one thing for it. I'm going to have to brush up my Arabic and go and pay a visit to the greedy, sweaty, lazy, half-witted Egyptian thief (also known as a Custom Clearance Manager) who sees a cargo container with a European looking name on it and decides it's time for an early retirement.

Inta haramee? Ana a rajul al watwat!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.