Scary man

I chanced upon the perfect job for me today whilst browsing the British University of Egypt's website and so much of this morning was spent taking care of making phone calls and sending off my CV using the fantastic wifi internet which is now running through our apartment (thanks to Vodafone's unexpectedly impressive customer service).

Fingers crossed for the job. I really hope I can at least get an interview.

There is a huge satellite transmission area near our home in Maadi which is surrounded by a ten foot wall with armed guards dotted along it. On the way back from paying my first internet bill, one of the security guards spotted my camera and started shouting to get my attention. I've had a little bit of unwanted attention over the last few days from armed guards around the area regarding my camera (one of whom actually made a 'handcuff' gesture at me) and so I tried to pack it away quickly so as not to get in trouble.

As it turns out, he just wanted me to take his picture. He took great pride in grabbing his gun and posing for me but that shot didn't come out nearly as well as this one I took shortly after.

When I started to walk away, he started shouting at me again, but this time a bit more aggressively. I couldn't quite work out what he wanted; my guess was he was demanding a bit of 'baksheesh' but how on earth he expected me to hand it to him ten feet up was beyond me. So, I walked briskly on, hoping that he wasn't in the mood for reciprocating me-shooting-him by him-shooting-me right back.

I won't be doing that again, that's for sure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.