West Coaster

By WestCoaster

Life Saver

All Hallows Eve, what a day!!! I am not a great one for celebration my usual nod to such events is to crank up the tunes on my ipods and indulge in a little restrained accompaniment. Being a rock and metal fan, the fodder for Halloween is wide ranging as many of you will imagine but for most of the day the music was a playlist for my friend with memories of our ambling along the river making me smile to myself.

The click wheel rolled over to the wrong selection and out blared AC/DC quite appropriately given the date "Highway to Hell" the voice of Bon Scott booming out of the car. Ahhhh the irony I thought to myself, like the Young brothers who formed the band, Scott was an Ex-pat, part of the exodus the Australians refereed to as the £10 Poms. The promise of a better life and the opportunity of a better climate was too attractive for many and Bon's family left Kirriemuir and sailed for the new world. I knew I had to shoot the river again today. Strange how random places and the people there can hold your thoughts!!!

Today the river again, it was a grey day; but an impulsive decision, a drive Colin McRae would have approved of and a few minutes in the company of my friend made my day so much brighter, then sadly they were gone, how special these seemingly crazy moments are.

The light was so flat that it was difficult to get a shot I was happy with, this was nothing great but there is something about it I kind of liked, and I hope wherever you are tonight you might like it too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.