West Coaster

By WestCoaster

One Man and His Dog

I miss my dogs every day, I have always had Labradors, always black, and always trained for the gun. They are the beautiful, faithful animals, their love unconditional, they always greeted you with those gorgeous deep brown eyes and the wagging tail that made you aware you were special to them as they to you. Walking with my beautiful friend on Wednesday and the gorgeous Flops I realised just how much I missed having dogs around but at present I would not have the time to train a brace of labs properly which would be unfair on them so, for now, I will have to content myself with the memories.

It was a sunny morning, a little breezy but still a beautiful day for walking and as I pulled my boots on instead of the river I thought I would wander through the woods and see if the boots from Pretty in Pink had been reclaimed. As I started down the Avenue there was a gentleman in front of me with an exuberant golden Labrador eager for her morning constitutional I let them wander on ahead a little as I could picture this shot in my head as they headed down the hill. I managed to shoot a couple of frames before they left the avenue and headed off onto one of the many side trails that meander through the woods and out along the river.

I like the simplicity of the shot, the tranquillity of man and man's best friend as they walk together in this most beautiful of places. I love our little village, I feel privileged to have grown up here and enjoyed these woods as my playground on many a long hot summers day. More and more recently I have almost grown to resent this place, where would I have been if I had had the courage of my convictions to follow my heart? I only know the answer to part of that question, "what might have been?"

I know now that when the time comes I will encourage the twins to follow their hearts and follow their dreams, to take that leap of faith, and to leave this place if that is where their destiny lies. For me, well, for me I still believe my time will come. So come whatever may I will hold true to that thought and grasp every opportunity that presents itself for really, when you think about it, life is short and not a dress rehearsal!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.