Blue Hamish

By BlueHamish

I Hate You!

DDW's November Challenge Day 1: "Something you dislike"

Just to be clear, its the the one in the foreground that I dislike. Love the one in the background :-)

I have never liked coffee but I so want to like it. I drink tea and if I'm really lucky, a restaurant or cafe might offer a few teas but at the end of the day, its just water infused with leaves, and I can choose to take it black or white. Coffee drinkers on the over hand can choose from a vast array of different coffees and they each look, smell and presumably taste very different. I guess if I persevered, I might just get used to it, but I've never been able to bring myself to try. Seems such a waste of drinking time.

Saturday breakfast in Hitchin this week came a day early as we are going to the big smoke tomorrow to accompany Matthew and Anna on their whisky tasting. This week, it was the Radcliffe Arms. Possibly the most expensive place we will get to try (£8 for the full English), but as expected, it was the best so far. Question is, is it worth the premium (about £5 more expensive for 2 people) than the current runner up?

Answer is YES. I'm a foodie and I will always pay a reasonable premium to get the best that is available and for me, this was worth the extra.

Next week has to be Mannys, the nearest Hitchin has to a greasy spoon style restaurant. They even do chips with the cooked breakfast. Better get out my low slung builders jeans and polish me bum cheeks for the occasion.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.