Plus ça change...

By SooB

Flaming wine

Last night I definitely had more of the trick than the treat. The oldest of our kid neighbours (12 and 9) had been left unsupervised for the evening with half a dozen of their most annoying friends. Their amusement for the night included: using our carved pumpkin as a football, nicking the decorations from our door, save for the balloons which they burst in situ. They continued the fun by ringing my doorbell and running away every half hour or so until midnight (then again from 10ish this morning).

Extra joy arrived at 2am when I had to get up to deliver my dinner into the toilet. I haven't been properly sick for ages* (morning sickness was different) and had forgotten quite how miserable it is. Turns out TallGirl beat me to the vomitorium by an hour or so. I did worry that there was something dodgy about dinner, but our guest was fine so I guess it is a virus (confirmed when Mum of guest said she (her daughter) had had that on Wednesday - that may be how we got it).

Anyway, a necessarily slow and grumbly day, though I did manage to cut some grass with my fab new strimmer. Now I'm cooking tomorrow's dinner - boeuf bourgignonne - and this is a quick snap of the wine flaming before being reduced. I'm not sure I'll be sparkling company for our guest tonight...

*April 2004.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.