MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

All Hallows (Saints) Day

I got an email from my sister in France last evening telling me that she had bought chrysanthemums to take to her French husband's relatives' graves today, as is the tradition there on All Saints Day.

I decided I would photograph a church dedicated to all saints. There's one in Hertford but then I remembered that the Old Thundridge church, known as Cold Christmas church, was dedicated to Little Mary and All Saints. The church, which it is said was unusually aligned north south, was demolished, leaving only the tower and graveyard, containing many children's graves. It cannot be reached by road and has become a haunt of Satanists.

Last time I visited it was as a photo assistant. I had found the location for my mate who was shooting for a photography competition. We squeezed through a tiny hole ignoring the, "Danger Falling Masonry" sign, ducked under a tiny arch and climbed a narrow spiral staircase on our hands and knees. It took him ages to get over carting all his gear up there. :) We didn't see any ghosts or hear any weird growling.

The little hole has been blocked by a stout metal plate which I am told the devil worshippers were trying to kick in last night.

I don't believe in ghosts and ghouls and things that go bump in the night. This tower is in a lovely setting. I had a nice walk along the banks of the River Rib but did get soaked to the skin on the way back to the car, that I was invited to leave in the grounds of a beautiful property by the gardener. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.