Picnic in the Park

Today was Picnic in the Park, one of DB's main events of the year where the whole community comes together for lots of live entertainment. I had absolutely no desire to go this year but went down because our church had a table promoting itself, and we were invited to come and speak about our church and give out sweets, wooden crosses, tracts and bibles.

I was very happy to do that and avoid the performances ... and the alcohol. Can't drink at the moment cause I'm still on antibiotics after the surgery.

I'm rather disgusted with the copious amounts of alcohol that is consumed at these 'family' events, in the name of charity!!! ... So much so that some parents are sprawled out on the grass cause they're so wasted, while they're kids are left to fend for themselves. What's worse is that because the community is so small, you keep bumping into each other. Anyway, Martin constantly reminds me not to judge, and I should listen to him more.

The rest of the evening was spent helping the boys pack for their school trips tomorrow. Jon is going to New Zealand for fun and adventure and Ben is going to Cambodia to help build homes! What wonderful opportunities for them both. We shall be childless next week. What on earth will I do ... oh yeah, everything I do when the kids are here, hehehee.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.