Mikey88

By Mikey88

Outlined

This is the price we pay for feeding the birds. They are picky little rascals, and the seeds they don't want they tend to just throw away. This means that unless I'm really good at brushing the patio (which I'm not!) the seeds get blown into the cracks between the paving stones and germinate, outlining them. Eventually, they get bad enough for me to get out the kneeler and weed it, then the whole process begins again.

There are two possible solutions - first use a tray attached to the bottom of the feeder. I tried this, but the woodpigeons can land on it and then they virtually empty the feeder in about ten minutes. Secondly, I could move the feeder. This would work, but where it is gives me the opportunity for close up pictures of the birds which use the feeder. So, I pay the price and weed the patio at intervals!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.