Mikey88

By Mikey88

The Importance of Photographs

Photographs are incredibly important - but also quite melancholy. This little collection shows four generations of my family. I know every person in each photograph - Mum, Dad, children, aunts, uncles, great aunts and grandparents.

Having inherited my mum's photo albums when she died, there were people I recognised, but there were a lot more that I didn't know. For example, who were the group of people with their arms linked walking down Scarborough sea front, probably sometime in the 1930s? My mum could have told me, but she didn't write down who they were, or why they were important enough for her to put the picture in an album. I find this quite sad, but I couldn't throw away the albums.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.