Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Bachelor fridge

Cynics among us regularly say that the weather is bound to be bad over the first weekend in June because the Monday is a bank holiday (unlike the UK, where it's the last Monday in May). The sad thing is that this is all too often the case, just as year after year the weather is usually sunny and warm while the end-of-school exams are on -- so maybe things will improve next week. Certainly, there was no sign on Saturday of the blue skies and bright sunshine which we'd enjoyed on Thursday and Friday.

My day began as it usually does on Saturdays, meeting up with a group of like-minded friends to listen to recording of classical music. After a couple of bevvies in the local pub, it was back home to my rather sad and pathetic bachelor fridge, too late to remember that I should have shopped for the basics and also too late to do anything about it because of an arrangement to meet up with another friend in town.

It was all because of this rush (or maybe because of that second drink which delayed my return home) that I pulled the door behind me, walked down to the bus stop, saw a blipportunity -- and only then realised that I had the camera case on my belt, but no camera in it. Disaster! I should have gone back for the camera, I really should. After a couple of cocktails and an okay bite to eat, we moved on to the Mint bar in the Westin hotel for more cocktails. A jazz band had set up, and began to get ready for their set shortly after we arrived. They were great, the atmosphere was wonderful, the blipportunities were endless ... but I could do absolutely nothing about it.

Lesson to self: Before leaving home, always check that the camera case has a camera in it. The laws of blipperdom dictate that the best blipportunities happen when you don't have the camera with you. No more disasters will be tolerated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.