What did I see today...?

By DaveR

Something wicked this way writes...

Not that I would ever refer to any of my fellow wrimos as wicked, but when it comes to some of the things we put our characters through that's another story... And not that anyone pictured was actually writing, we don't usually wear costumes - this was taken at the kick-off party which happily coincides with Hallowe'en every year - folks dress as their characters or innocent bystanders from offices (lots of them on weekdays!)

Yes, it's time for NaNoWriMo once more, that epic race for 50,000 words of varying sense in a month long marathon to write a novel. This will be my tenth year of NaNo-ing, and I'm still no closer to getting any of them published, but at least I now have a vague idea about which possibly could be (after a lot of editing!)

This year's NaNo is going to see me visit my very first attempt and see if I can't achieve one of two things:
a). Hit the magical 50,000 words.
b). Finish the story, or at least the bit I want to tell (it's definitely got sequels in my brain).

My first year was the only time (so far) I've failed to hit the target and the reason why is quite simple - the first year I was going solo. I signed up the website and checked out the forums, but I didn't really enagage with any other writers and there were no write-ins that I could attend. Every year since I've been to write-ins, kick off parties, chatted on the forums or the web rooms for each region (and not just mine!) and met up with other folk tearing their brains out in a quest for literary abandon, and every year since I've hit the target. So as much as I'm doing this myself, I'm very much not alone in that anymore.

Let's get this novel written.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.