An Angel in Ballydehob

I've been over to Ballydehob today delivering cards, I only went to one shop and met 5 people I knew, two of whom grilled me as to exactly what I was doing so far from home (all of 16km!) - GOD, if you're reading this - the very same shop where you were instantly sussed on arrival in West Cork! I then had a mooch around the village where there are some fantastic old shop fronts and fine examples of hand painted lettering. There are also a few good murals including this one, based on an angel in the Book of Kells. It's rather well done, a shame about the wiring but c'est la vie. You can see more of it here. . The Book of Kells was written around 800AD by monks on the island of Iona. Visited by rampaging vikings the monks fled across the water, clutching their precious manuscripts, and arrived in Kells, County Meath. Today the Book has been rebound into four volumes and can be viewed at Trinity College, Dublin. The whole thing is also online.. It is absolutely breath-taking in its beauty, complexity, humour and sheer artistry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.