The beholder's eye

By uniqueandlovely

Jay feather

Back to work today, and Mr U&L had a hospital appointment this afternoon, resulting in me having to rush home to look after the dogs, leaving me no daylight time to look for a decent blip....
So, back to my little bag of tricks again...this time a beautiful wing bar feather from a Jay, though technically it's a Eurasian jay Garrulus glandarius.
Jays are members of the crow or Corvidae family and prefer to live in mature woodland although I have seen them in my garden. Jays love acorns, and will bury them in autumn for eating later in the winter.
This feather, which I found in Southwater woods earlier in the year is one of the few feathers that make up the blue flash on the wing which in my opinion makes the Jay quite showy, and this find really rather special!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.