Blue skies and Butterflies. Blip 600!

I really cannot believe this is my 6ooth blip!! wow that time has gone quickly! and apart from one blip the day after I started all have been consecutive!
I have met so many lovely people on here, and been challenged by so many wonderful shots.......this place really is the best!
I had planned to go to see the poppies one last time today to celebrate this landmark, but Charlii was in pain with her knee and couldn't come with me, and I really couldn't face the queues so instead I went for a meander round the local cemetery.
To be honest I was feeling a bit sorry for myself , my lumix broken means I have no access to a telephoto lens, and no ability to take the selective focus shots I really like to take.
However as it turned out it was fine, and I took some lovely autumnal shots using my wide angle lens instead.
Along one edge of the cemetery there was a huge ivy plant draped over the fence in full flower and alive (literally ) with hundreds of insects! Mainly flies and wasps, but amongst them were no less than 5 stunning red admiral Vanessa atalanta butterflies!
So, my 600th blip is a Red Admiral butterfly, feeding on ivy against the lovely blue late autumn sky. I used some fill flash so the detail remained on the butterfly and I am quite pleased with this shot.
It was a good job really, as I popped home to get another memory card, and while I was there it got very dark and stated pouring with rain, which continued until it got dark!
I think it proves to me I need to take my chances where I can, especially with winter on it's way!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.