A concrete love affair

By PhotoIain

An ode to the BBC big screen

This BBC big screen has been a feature of Humberstone Gate for a number of years now. Most likely installed in my fine-years of estrangement from this city; only walking down Gallowtree Gate twice in about 20 months!

The big screen has shown so many shorts from local film makers over the years, sporting events, news and a panacea of material from many genres. Ive even had films I have DOP'd on shown! I think I am going to miss it.

Heres why. I'm very interested in the way in which media and technology interact with a city. To varying degrees I think they help define the city, to reference it and supply a zeitgeist to be consumed by citizens, it can even define the geography of a city! Although this screen far less iconic I might liken loosing it to trying to imagine London without Ally Pally or Crystal Palace or more presciently Piccadilly Circus without its neon screens. Can you imagine it?

This is Leicester calling a little more faintly after the screens big demise...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.