The Gazweasel Times

By gazweasel

Local store for local people

This is the little mixed business just down from our hotel, which is just beyond the orange building. It's incredibly handy for things like sugary milk, coffee, cucumber flavoured crisps...you know, the sort of things that remind you of home.

Today I went shopping in Wangfujing Street, an amazing pedestrianised shopping heaven (or hell if you're like me) for a few last minute gifts and an essential Starbucks.

Then I was off to the National Art Museum of China which, I'm sorry to say, was a bit of a disappointment. They don't have any permanent exhibitions so you have to look at a lot of paintings by the same person or a load of water colours from the same period.

Don't get me wrong, I quite liked a lot of what I saw but, basically, I'd have preferred a glimpse at how art has evolved in this country rather than where they are now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.