The Gazweasel Times

By gazweasel

Little drummer boy

Woo hoo! Final day in Beijing!

After a lovely hour or two spent in the serenity of the Confucian Temple, I accidentally found myself in the Drum Tower a mere ten minutes before the drumming performance was about to start. I say accidentally because I was due to meet Ms GW and Sarah and approached the tower from the wrong direction and wound up walking up these ridiculously steep steps, finding myself in the drum room.

Anyway, it was a very happy accident. There are a number of big drums and an equal number of young lads to bash them with sticks. It used to be that the Chinese authorities would do this on the hour to make sure the civil servants got to work on time. These days it's to entertain the tourists.

It was really excellent fun.

Did I mention I'm coming home tomorrow?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.