Marlytyz

By Marlytyz

Charleston in the Rain

This is a photo, taken on a rainy Tuesday, at Charleston, the home of the artists, writers and intellectuals known as the Bloomsbury set. I have visited it before on a number of occasions and hoped it would be open today. Unfortunately it is now closed until next Spring but well worth a visit if you are ever in the area next year. The house is the only surviving example of complete interiors by the artists Vanessa Bell and Duncan Grant anywhere in the world.
Their living arrangements were as equally fascinating as the location and decor of the house. Dorothy Parker was reputed to have said 'Bloomsbury paints in circles, lives in squares, and loves in triangles.
'The group were said to be interested in working out a new way of living at the house including a different approach to friendships, relationships and family life, Vanessa Bell and Duncan Grant lived and had a child together at the house in 1916 but Vanessa's husband, and Duncan's lovers David Garnett and the economist John Maynard Keynes also moved in with them at times. That must certainly have challenged the social mores at that time.
Anyway, back to my mundane dramas. I was devastated to realise that I had left my camera battery charger in Wales so my dead Nikon will have to remain that way unless I can think of a solution that doesn't involve spending £68. It is strange how not having a camera made me feel bereft.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.