Cityscapes

By bluewlf04

Freedom for a Day

Today I drove the two hours to Lynchburg to pick up Jess and another 30-45 minutes to the trailhead. We set in on the Appalachian Trail heading south for 2-3 miles. This was definitely not the longest or most difficult hike I've taken; in fact, it was quite the opposite. This section of trail is interesting because it passes through the ruins of a settlement founded by escaped slaves during the American Civil War.

Jess and I have both been itching to get out of our repective urban jungles and into the backcountry, even if only for a few hours. Freedom from concrete, glass, steel, and asphalt. The rain clouds loomed overhead for most of the day, but we managed to stay dry.

This is not a very technically proficient photo. In fact, I nearly deleted it as soon as shot it off but for some reason I like it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.