Blipping led to a confrontation with the police!

After watching the fishermen launch and retrieve their catch early this morning I took another walk into the area behind the beach jumble of hotels that led me up and away to areas where there wasn't another tourist to be seen. I found a small workshop and watched three men from Bengal making jewellery, sitting cross legged on the ground, each with leather apron attached to the work table to catch gold filings and bits as they worked - I held a heavy gold ring with many little diamonds in it that was due to have a magnificent emerald placed in the center. The man took ages to place it and used super glue before turning the gold over the edge to secure it - worth 30,000$US they said. Under the coconut palms where locals live huge butterflies flitted, lizards watched with unblinking eyes, crows haunted the trees and strange sounds came from others that were hidden. Beautiful cockerels crowed harshly at one another but a pecking order was there and they cringed as soon as the top boy appeared. I saw a 3' long snake swimming in a stream - so fast my camera couldn't cope - and an egret was striding around beside a small brown cow tethered in the undergrowth. Then I stumbled upon this lorry in the undergrowth and started to take pictures of it. A man came out of the adjacent building and asked very severely what I was doing. Smiling sweetly I told him about my nature study and he said that was ok but didn't I know I was outside the police station and this lorry was impounded for criminal investigation and therefore subject to security and not to be photographed! I had to giggle and point to all the other impounded vehicles, tuc tucs and cars - but he wasn't having any of it and sent me on my way. Have a look at it larger and see the decoration - it wasn't surprising with those bald tyres that it came a cropper

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.