ZE1Christie

By ZE1Christie

Catpund Waterfalls

A damp morning turned into a sunny morning and then after lunch it's been heavy rain showers!

I got all morning out and about with Sammy dog. Headed down to Cunningsburgh to the Catpund and also a walk around the village too. When I was at the Catpund, I got a great chance to play about with my ND filters and the water, great fun :)

I my be on holiday from the Shetland Museum but still have to work in the Kiln Bar later tonight!

This is some of the many waterfalls that run down the Catpund burn. The Catpund is a huge area of Soapstone. If you look closely, you'll see squares in the stone and chisel marks too. This was once the largest Viking Soapstone quarry in Europe. The Vikings cut the stone for cooking pots, bowls, lamps etc.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.