Andrew's Random Photos

By andrewhiggins

Tom, the standard bearer

Across the country over the next weekends, thousands of old servicemen will take part in services to remember those comrades who fell in action. Every year, age makes it a little more effort, but they forget that for a morning, and stand proudly, setting an example to us all.
When I was taking Tom's portrait I asked if he was okay holding the standard. "I've held this for a lot longer than you are taking, doing your photo!" said Tom. He also said that for years, the weather had been fine for the remembrance services he had been a standard bearer at, and was sure his luck will continue. Tom was a smiley man. Seems even the weather liked that.

This was taken while I was doing another shift for the Gloucester Citizen, which is a great way to keep my hand in the newspaper game now I'm freelance. There's nothing quite like working for a newspaper (even though I'm not working out of the office, so miss the buzz) and I didn't realise how I'd miss it when I left the Scarborough paper. But it would be great if I can break into more editorial work, for magazines and features... News and features would be a great mix.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.