Autumn shades

This blip of the Wey Navigation near St. John's couldn't contrast more with yesterday's blip but I like that about life. I like variety. I took the dogs out early and didn't feel very inspired, even after taking a few shots. When I came home I looked at this one and thought it had promise with a little cropping. There's never a rowing boat or a canoe when you need one! The colours are once again slightly washed out in Blipfoto. Oh well. It would make a nice jigsaw, the sort that drives me bonkers and that Gill loves to finick with.

Had a call from a PR lady to say I'd been quoted in the Daily Telegraph today, then doing a search found one from a couple of weeks back too that I'd never seen. Evening Standard today has done something as well, apparently. She said BBC Radio 2 had picked up on it and wanted to chat to me on its Drivetime show at 6.40 pm. They'll probably change their minds. The Beeb is notoriously fickle on this stuff, particularly the Today Programme. Maybe I should pack in the soul destroying novel-writing and go back to non-fiction.

Incidentally, the way this works is that Microsoft (in this case) pay a PR company and some researchers a wad of money to do a report. The PR company ring me up for a quote. Then they press release the report to the media and, when it's covered, the client, i.e. Microsoft, is chuffed at the exposure which helps maintain its brand in developing office communications. OK, not by that much, but this is relatively cheap marketing compared with advertising. It's what passes for news these days. I get sod all but I do get a bit of exposure - something that some people in salaried corporate life think those in the creative industries can live off.

Update on Radio 2 slot: Done - all over in less time than it takes to make a cup of tea! Blink and you missed it. Have not a clue what I said but must have been good stuff, whatever it was. I can go and have tea now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.