Kamran

By kamran

My photo exhibition

Cutting from June's edition of DATES Magazine Magdeburg - This is the portrait of Fidel

Familiar Stranger: People in Magdeburg (Vertraute Fremde: Menschen in Magdeburg)

Recently I was invited to exhibit my portraits I did in Magdeburg. The exhibition would be part of WeltMusik Festival that will be held from 21st June - 24th June in Magdeburg. A great honour for me.

The focus of the exhibition would be on people living in Magdeburg, native or foreigners. Since my first stranger blip on 23rd Feb this year, I met many strangers in the street, was able to hear their life stories and photograph them. Many of those people can often be seen in the streets of Magdeburg.

I never imagined before anything like exhibition of my pictures would ever take place. I always took pictures for myself, often as a reaction to what I saw or felt inside. Blipfoto was a big push in this regard right from the start. Soon my interest completely shifted to photographing people. Currently I am stuck in portrait photography, and nothing else is attracting me much. Meeting new people (and photographing them) gives me a new perspective of life and helps me understanding the world around me.

Anyhow, I am absolutey not sure which pictures to put in the gallery. There would be space for 25-30 pictures (30x45 cm). Some more prints I could attach to an album for viewing. I plan to include pictures of people from university, punks, homeless / jobless people, youth and old, people from some different working classes. Most of the pictures would be taken from my blip portfolio.

Now I need your suggestions regarding the picture selection :) Thank you all blippers.


P.S. I must admit I am more nervous than excited.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.